Back to Top
Ocean County Government
Board of CommissionersDropdown arrow

Sheriff's Office

About The Sheriff

Sheriff Mastronardy is the Chief Executive Officer of his agency which includes multiple divisions and units in which he is responsible for staffing with highly-trained professional personnel. Those divisions include Operations, Judicial Services, Investigations and Administration. The Sheriff is also responsible for the Countywide Identification Program, the Child Passenger Safety Seat Program and provides K-9 support for all 33 municipalities including bloodhounds, explosive detection, narcotic detection and arson canines.

Michael G. Mastronardy brings over 45 years of law enforcement experience to the Sheriff’s Office. Having worked his way up the ranks of the Toms River Police Department, Mastronardy was named Chief of the Department in November 1992. He served as Chief for 22 years until his retirement December 31, 2013.

Sheriff Mastronardy attended Central Regional High School, graduated from Northeastern University in 1974 and John Jay College in 1979, obtaining a Master’s Degree in Public Administration. He has served on the faculty as an adjunct professor at Rutgers University, Monmouth University and Fairleigh Dickinson University.

Sheriff Mastronardy is a former President and currently serves as treasurer of the Sheriff's Association of New Jersey (SANJ) and has served as New Jersey's SACOP representative, the Juvenile Justice Committee, the Conference Committee of the International Association of Chiefs of Police and New Jersey's Sheriff Association. He is past president of the Ocean County Association of Chiefs of Police and the New Jersey State Chiefs of Police Association. He has been a consultant to NOBLE (National Organization of Black Law Enforcement Executives) on Cultural Diversity issues and served on the New Jersey Human Relations Commission.

The Sheriff is Section Chief and Secretary of the Constitutional Officers Association of New Jersey. The Sheriff currently serves on the Board of Directors of the National Public Safety Cadets and National Sheriff’s Association.